Shadowbringers Expansion Revealed For Final Fantasy XIV

Over the weekend, Square Enix unveiled its latest expansion for Final Fantasy XIV – “Shadowbringers.” The new expansion is set to come out next Summer and will be chock full of exciting content including the arrival of the fan favorite Blue Mage class.

Shadowbringers brings with it a new story line in which players must transform from a “Warrior of Light” into a “Warrior of Darkness.” Along with the announcement came a stylish trailer that gives a glimpse at this startling development.

Gematsu has a whole list of the revealed content which you can see in its entirety below:

FF14 Shadowbringers Version 5.0 Features

Multiple new jobs

A new level cap (from Level 70 to Level 80)

Battle system maintenance

Sprawling new areas

New Area No. 1: The Rak’Tika Greatwood

New Area No. 2: Amh Araeng


New Beast Tribes and new Primals

The Nu Mou

Thrilling new dungeons

Challenging new high-end raids

Exciting new Alliance raids

End-game content for Disciples of the Land and Hand

Restoration of the Holy See of Ishgard

NPC battle assist system: “Trust” – Similar to Final Fantasy XI, players will be able to party up with a story non-player character and do quests with them. This system will continually be updated with new non-player characters.

New Game+ – Enables players to replay any of the old content.

New System: World Visit – “Visit” worlds on the same data center via Aetherytes in Limsa Lominsa, Gridania, and Ul’dah. Progress through quests and other duties on the world of your choice. (Certain features are not available when visiting a different world.) Players can move freely between worlds on the same data center.

New Playable Race – While the identity of the new race was not specifically stated, director and producer Naoki Yoshida hinted at it being Viera with the Bugs Bunny on the back of his t-shirt. Patch 4.5 will also hint at this race.

More new information on Final Fantasy XIV: Shadowbringers will be shared at the Final Fantasy XIV

Paris Fan Festival on February 2.

Before Shadowbringers comes out next year, there will be a new patch version 4.5 which will pave the way for the expansion by adding the popular Blue Mage class to the game.

What makes them so beloved? More conventional classes such as warriors, thieves, and black mages learn new skills automatically by leveling up. The Blue Mage, on the other hand, is one of the more unique Final Fantasy classes in that they primarily learn new abilities through monster battles – Blue Mages can copy monster techniques after getting into combat with them.

FF14 Version 4.5 Features

New Job: Blue Mage – Blue mage will be available to all players that own Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn, have reached level 50 as a Disciple of War or Magic, and have completed the 2.0 main scenario. Taking inspiration from previous Final Fantasy titles, the blue mage job will provide a unique solo gameplay experience in which players will learn monster actions and advance through blue mage-specific content. Blue mage will begin with a level cap of 50, and increase in the future with the addition of new content for the job.

Available at Patch 4.5

The first “limited job” in Final Fantasy XIV

Not connected with any class

Monster actions are “learned”

Blu-only Duty to be introduced

Level cap set at 50 (will increase in the future)

More details will be announced on November 17 during Naoki Yoshida’s Letter from the Producer Live.

Square Enix also released an introduction trailer showing the Blue Mage in action. Check it out below.

Final Fantasy XIV Shadowbringers is scheduled to be released “early summer 2019” for Windows, PS4, Mac, and on Steam. If you’re interested in learning more, make sure to visit their official site.

Featured Image Source: Gematsu

Related Posts